This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

C# example for complete beginner

Jan 14, 2011 at 10:48 AM

Hi David and all,

Thanks very much of the very useful work! I am really a starter to C# and just download MS C# Express wanting to try out this math library. I find myself still at 0 after nearly 2 hours of reading the discussion and documentation. I wonder if you can give me some "Hello World" example for this Meta Numerics library so I could start exploring it?

Lots of appreciation!

Huan

Jan 16, 2011 at 2:45 AM

Hello Huan,

I'd be happy to help with an example. Here's  a step-by-step guide.

1. Run the MSI installer to install Meta.Numerics. It should create a Meta.Numerics folder in your Program Files directory with several files it.
  2. In Visual Studio (C# Express or any other flavor), choose File > New > Project and create a new C# Console Application. You could use Meta.Numerics in any other kind of app, too, but a console app will be the fastest for us to write.
  3. In the solution explorer window, right-click on References and choose Add Reference. In the dialog box that appears, there are two ways for you to reference Meta.Numerics. In the .NET tab, if Meta.Numerics appears in the list of assemblies, select it there and click OK. Or in the Browse tab, you can browse to Program Files\Meta.Numerics\Meta.Numerics.dll and select it there. Either way, when you are done you should see Meta.Numerics under References in the solution explorer window.
  4. In the Program.cs file, add using statements for the Meta.Numerics namespaces you want to use. In my example, I will be using the Meta.Numerics.Functions namespace, so I add the line:
    using Meta.Numerics.Functions;
  5. Now let's use Meta.Numerics to find a zero of a Bessel function. Put the following code in the Main method:
    double x0 = FunctionMath.FindZero(delegate(double x) { return AdvancedMath.BesselJ(0, x); }, 1.0);
    Console.WriteLine(x0);