This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Solving Ax=B in Visual Basic

Nov 22, 2012 at 4:17 PM

Hei.

I've been facing a problem while trying to solve a Ax=B matricial system on my VB project. I used to program in Fortran and solve that problem through DGESV LaPack routine, but since I'm new in VB programming I cant seem to get a clue about how to do it.

Thanks in advance, any help would be much appreciated.

Coordinator
Nov 27, 2012 at 11:06 PM

Here's a VB sample:

' Let's solve the matrix equation Ax = b

' Define a 3 X 3 matrix
Dim A As New SquareMatrix(3)
A(0, 0) = 1
A(0, 1) = 1
A(0, 2) = -1
A(1, 0) = 2
A(1, 1) = -1
A(1, 2) = 0
A(2, 0) = 0
A(2, 1) = -1
A(2, 2) = 1

' Define a right-hand-side vector
Dim b As New ColumnVector(0, 0, 1)

' LU decomposition is the fastest solution method
Dim LU = A.LUDecomposition()
Dim x = LU.Solve(b)

' Show the result
For i As Integer = 0 To x.Dimension - 1
    Console.WriteLine(x(i))
Next

Note that, in contrast to FORTRAN, array indexes in VB (and other .NET langauges) are zero-based. Note also that there are other approaches besides LU decomposition that Meta.Numerics also supports. The naive approach of setting AI = A.Inverse() and multiplying AI * b will work, but a numerical analyst will tell you it has poor performance and stability. You could also use QR decomposition, which is very stable but a bit slower than LU decomposition.

Nov 30, 2012 at 12:25 AM

Hi ichbin.

First of all thanks for your response. I've been debugging all the "pre-solving" code, that's why I took so long to report back.
I followed your example with the LU decomposition, but unfortunatelly Visual Studio gives me a "cannot divide by zero" error back :\